The Soloist Project: Ally the Fiddle

ally-the-fiddle-logo

“Ally the Fiddle” is a band from North Germany. To describe a musical style you would surely use words, like folky, rocky, instrumental, progressive… The basement builds a typical rock band, containing two guitars, a bass and drums. Unusually in the foreground stands the violin, but also the dialogue between guitar and fiddle. The violin mainly replaces the voice, but for sure the voice will not be missed out.

Most of the arrangements and compositions are based on irish tunes, sometimes defamiliarized to unrecognizability. The band merely targets to wrest the violin from her classical prejudices and show her variability in the rock genre.

3IMG_0172_band8_small

Band members

f.l.t.r.:

Ally Storch (violin, fiddle, e-violin); Diemo Heuer (guitar); Stefan “Huky” Hukriede (drums), also “Asps Von Zaubererbrüdern”; Robert Klawonn (guitar), also “Poised”; Simon Tumielewicz (bass), also “Decision”

Sound (Excerpt from “The Crumbling Autumn”)

Bandhistory

In the essence of her artist´s career Ally Storch resolves in 2008 to come up with a first CD with own compositions and beloved tunes in own arrangements. Stefan “Huky” Hukriede immediately takes part of the recordings. He was playing for many years Irish Folk together with Ally. On the search for a guitarist Robert Klawonn becomes the first recommendation and the Co-writer for Ally. Still the CD is published under “Ally the Fiddle”, Ally´s artist´s name due her times as Folk fiddler.

After the recordings Robert invited guitarist Diemo Heuer and Huky bassist Thorsten Hartung to join the band. The name of the fiddler now became the new name of the band.

A count of concerts, festivals and support shows, f.i. for “Haggard” and “Umbra et Imago” followed, until “Ally the Fiddle” got some bigger events in 2011, like the Wave Gotik Treffen, the Festival Mediaval, a support tour for the english band “U.F.O.”, a support tour for the former of the US american band “Toto” and a support tour for the german band “ASP”.

Publications

  • 2013 “The One”, LP
  • 2011 “The Crumbling Autumn”, Single
  • 2008 “Red Unicorn”, EP

Management

Ally Storch, mail[at]ally-fiddle.de

Booking

Crush Concerts
Jens Frerichs
Spittastr. 31
D-10317 Berlin

Fax +49 (0)30 29776468

info[at]crushconcerts.com
www.crushconcerts.com

Internet

Band´s website ally-fiddle.de
Nauticorn Edition Nauticorn Edition
Merchandise at Fantotal.de and in ASP´s band shop

CDs and mp3s at CDBaby and Amazon

Newsletter: news[at]ally-fiddle.de

Press

”[…] Studied violinist Ally found an excellent musical partner in guitarist Robert Klawonn. So they enlightened some real fireworks on stage with their violin and guitar solos, sometimes in the spirit of Folk, sometimes in Metal sounds. Robert’s manner to play shows his incredible high technical skills. Fast fingers and his taste of a unique guitar sound are his trademarks. […] ‘Come with me’ of the actual CD has been the first track this evening, where Ally was singing. This is something new and something enriching for the band, which had only instrumental songs in it’s setlist. With her pleasant voice, sometimes bright, sometimes really deep, she gives her own compositions a new sound color. But the main color sill comes from her string instrments, the violin and the 5 string violin, which was uniquely crafted for her. […] Ally and her guys managed to increase the mood in the audience from the very beginning and to raise it high. The band’s incredible joy of playing immediately entered the audience… […] All that’s left to say is, that I furthermore wish a successful career for the band. They deserve it!”

Concert review about “The One” by Bodo Kubatzki

“…sound, that storms out the boxes and blows away all prejudices against boring traditional folk music, without denying the roots […] provokes to wild dancing, to head banging, to air guitar or air violin playing and to press the`repeat button`…”

Axel Schön, Orkus-Magazine 2008

“…Oppressive guitars and deep bass lines support perfectly the tender sounds of the fiddle. Here softness meets pleasant hardness…”

Simone Bösch, Metal Hammer 2009

“…Long time ago we were taking about the stereotypes, that classical string instruments only have their existence in the orchestra pits of opera houses. Ally the Fiddle prove the opposite. Who claims there, head banging and sting instruments would not belong together, should cut off his hair and donate it for Ally´s bow…”

Nina, necroweb.de 2008

Das Soloprojekt: Ally the Fiddle

ally-the-fiddle-logo

Die Band „Ally the Fiddle“ kommt aus dem Norden Deutschlands. Wollte man sie musikalisch stilistisch einordnen, fielen Schlagworte, wie folkig, rockig, instrumental, progressiv… Das Fundament bildet eine typische Rockband, bestehend aus zwei Gitarren, einem Bass und Schlagzeug. Ungewöhnlicher Weise steht hier die Violine im Vordergrund, aber auch das Wechselspiel von Geige und E-Gitarre. Die Violine ersetzt weitestgehend den Gesang, jedoch kommt auch dieser nicht zu kurz.

Den Arrangements und Kompositionen liegen irische Tunes zugrunde, teilweise bis zur Unkenntlichkeit verarbeitet. Vielmehr geht es dieser Band darum, die Violine dem klassischen Prädikat zu entreissen und vielmehr ihre Variabilität im Rockgenre zu unterstreichen.

3IMG_0172_band8_small

Bandmitglieder

v.l.n.r.:

Ally Storch (Gesang, Geigen); Diemo Heuer (Gitarre); Stefan „Huky“ Hukriede (Schlagzeug), auch „Asps Von Zaubererbrüdern“; Robert Klawonn (Gitarre), auch „Poised“, Simon Tumielewicz (Bass), auch „Decision“

Sound (Auszug aus „The Crumbling Autumn“)

Bandgeschichte

In der Konsequenz ihrer künstlerischen Entwicklung beschließt Ally Storch 2008, eine erste CD zu veröffentlichen mit eigenen Kompositionen und lieb gewonnenen Tunes in eigenen Arrangements. Für die Aufnahmen steht sofort Stefan „Huky“ Hukriede bereit, mit dem Ally über mehrere Jahre in verschiedenen Irish Folk Formationen spielt. Auf der Suche nach einem geeigneten Gitarristen lernt Ally auf Empfehlung Robert Klawonn kennen und findet in ihm sofort ihren Co-Autor. Die CD entsteht noch unter dem Künstlernamen „Ally the Fiddle“, der sich im Laufe der Jahre in ihrer Eigenschaft als Folkfiddlerin herausgeprägt hat.

Schließlich holt Robert den Gitarristen Diemo Heuer und Huky den Bassisten Thorsten Hartung mit ins Boot. Der Name der Fiddlerin wird zum Namen der Band.

Nach zahlreichen kleineren Konzerten und Festivals sowie Supportshows für „Haggard“ und „Umbra et Imago“ folgen 2011 die größeren Engagements, wie das Wave Gotik Treffen, das Festival Mediaval, eine Supporttour für die englische Band „U.F.O.“, eine Supporttour für den ehemaligen Frontmann der US-amerikanischen Band „Toto“ und eine Supporttour für die deutsche Band „ASP“.

Veröffentlichungen

  • 2013 „The One“, LP
  • 2011 „The Crumbling Autumn“, Single
  • 2008 „Red Unicorn“, EP

Management

Ally Storch, mail[at]ally-fiddle.de

Booking

Crush Concerts
Jens Frerichs
Spittastr. 31
D-10317 Berlin

Fax +49 (0)30 29776468

info[at]crushconcerts.com
www.crushconcerts.com

Internet

Website der Band ally-fiddle.de
Nauticorn Edition Nauticorn Edition
Merchandise bei Fantotal.de and in ASP´s band shop

CDs und mp3s u.a. bei CDBaby und Amazon

Newsletter: news[at]ally-fiddle.de

Presse

”[…] Die studierte Geigerin Ally hat in Robert Klawonn einen exzellenten musikalischen Gegenpart gefunden. So zündeten beide auf der Bühne ein Feuerwerk von Geigen- und Gitarrensoli an, mal ins Folk-, mal ins Metalgewand gehüllt. Roberts Spielweise zeugt von hohem spielerischen Können. Schnelle Finger und sein Gespür für einen unverwechselbaren Gitarrensound zeichnen ihn aus. […] ‘Come with me’ von der aktuellen CD war der erste Titel des Abends, bei dem Ally sang. Dies ist ein Novum und eine Bereicherung für die Band, die bisher nur instrumentale Titel im Programm hatte. Mit ihrer angenehmen Stimme, die mal ganz hell, aber auch sehr tief klingen kann, verleiht sie ihren selbst komponierten Songs eine weitere Klangfarbe. Die Hauptfarbe jedoch bringen ihre Streichinstrumente, die Geige bzw. eine eigens für sie angefertigte 5-saitige Geige. […] Ally und ihre Jungs schafften es vom ersten Song an, die Stimmung im Saal ständig zu steigern. Die unglaubliche Spielfreude der Band sprang sofort aufs Publikum über… […] Bleibt mir nur, der Band eine weiterhin erfolgreiche Karriere zu wünschen. Verdient haben sie es allemal!”

Konzertbericht zu “The One” von Bodo Kubatzki

„…Sound, der aus den Boxen fegt und jegliche Vorurteile über langweilige traditionelle Folkmusik wegbläst, ohne die Wurzeln zu verleugnen […] macht Lust zum wilden Tanzen, Headbangen, Luftgitarre oder -geigespielen und darauf, den `Repeatknopf`zu betätigen…“

Axel Schön, Orkus-Magazin 2008

„…Drückende Gitarren und tiefe Bassspuren ergänzen die zarten Klänge der Fidel perfekt. Hier trifft Weichheit auf angenehme Härte…“

Simone Bösch, Metal Hammer 2009

„…Längst gilt es als Klischee, dass klassische Streicher und Zupfer nur im Orchestergraben diverser Opernhäuser etwas zu suchen hätten. Ally the Fiddle führt Aussagen wie diese Ad Absurdum. Wer da behauptet, Headbangen und Streichinstrumente würden nicht zusammen passen, der sollte sich schleunigst die Haare schneiden lassen und sie als Bespannung für Allys Bogen stiften…“

Nina, necroweb.de 2008